Thursday, May 8, 2014
Dreams of Domesticity
I've always been future-oriented, perhaps to a fault. My favorite past-time is list-making and planning, and my favorite thing to plan is basically anything related to domesticity and family life. It's a hobby that I'm sometimes slightly embarrassed by. I mean, I'm a feminist women's studies major who spends her free time looking at baby clothes and garden plans, for God's sake.
But...you can't help what you like, and I most definitely like anything and everything related to home life and family life.
While I love my job, my friends, and the mounds of free time and uninterrupted sleep I'm currently blessed with, I've always most looked forward to the part of my life filled with fat pink little babies, a house of my own where I can lay down roots, and a big garden for me to toil in. Even though I'm only 25, it sure seems to me like it's taking a hell of a long time to get to that part. I've been with my husband for eight years and we've been married for three years....I'm ready for squealing babies, for painting the porch, for planting flower bulbs and digging up dead shrubs.....but our pocketbook isn't ready for any of that yet.
So this blog is to document my husband and I's slow journey towards family life and home ownership. That journey started two months ago when we opened a joint savings account (After nearly 3 years of marriage -- yes, I know, we're very on-the-ball.). We're making efforts to save money, get our finances in order, and better ourselves and our careers in order to get ready to start a family. It's going to be a long journey, but I'm happy to get started.
Oh, and the blog title? Growing up, whenever anything went wrong my dad would blame it on the mysterious "Parker Curse," a curse that seemed to me to be a combination of slight bad luck and significant bad decision-making. The Parker Curse is part of my life, too, because when it comes to bad decisions I made a lot of them. The reason we aren't starting a family right now is primarily because of a trio of bad decisions I made in college: credit card debt, student loan debt, and a completely useless major. So I'm working my way back from the curse I put on myself. It's going to be a slow process....but I'm doing it anyway!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment